Big day at “The Big Schwop”

September 28, 2009 at 3:38 pm Leave a comment

On Saturday I volunteered my services at the Big Clothes Schwop which was held at the Langham in Auckland. What’s a clothes schwop you ask? It’s pretty simple, you bring along the new/lightly used designer clothing you no longer want and for each that is accepted you get one token to take something from the masses of things people bring in home with you.
I absolutely LOVE this concept. Inevitably you buy things and for one reason or another they don’t work out. What then? I usually sell them on TradeMe, however it is a lot of effort, especially if you are not experienced at it. You’ll never get the same amount you bought them for either. What could be better than swapping something you’re not wearing, for something “new to you” that you will love and actually wear!
In terms of volunteering at the event, I would highly recommend doing this… While I was on my feet literally all day ferrying clothes from one place to another, to be honest, I don’t know who got the better deal out of the day, me or them! With the tokens I had for the clothes I schwopped we got first pick of the clothing before everyone else, so I walked away with several dresses, tops and jackets which I absolutely love. As well as this, I met lots of cool people, including the lovely ladies behind this; Inga, Sarah and Chrissy.
This business is in it’s infancy still, but I really look forward to seeing how it grows and I plan on helping them wherever I can, including helping at the next coming event in Wellington on the 31st of October. If you’re in or around Wellington on that date, do come along, it’s well worth your while.

On Saturday I volunteered my time helping at the Big Clothes Schwop which was held at the Langham in Auckland. What’s a clothes schwop you ask? It’s pretty simple, you bring along the new/lightly used designer clothing you no longer want and for each that is accepted you get one token to take something from the masses of things people bring in home with you. See the news piece filmed on the day here.

I absolutely LOVE this concept. Inevitably you buy things and for one reason or another they don’t work out. What then? I usually sell them on TradeMe, however it is a lot of effort, especially if you are not experienced at it. As well as this, you’ll never get the same amount you bought them for either. What could be better than swapping something you’re not wearing, for something “new to you” that you will love and actually wear!

Clothes schwopping in action
Clothes schwopping in action

In terms of volunteering at the event, I would highly recommend doing this… While I was on my feet literally all day ferrying clothes from one place to another, to be honest, I don’t know who got the better deal out of the day, me or them! With the tokens I got for the clothes I schwopped, we got first pick of the clothing before everyone else, so I walked away with several dresses, tops and jackets that I absolutely love. As well as this, I met lots of cool people, including the lovely ladies behind the schwop; Inga, Sarah and Chrissy.

Inga, Sarah and Chrissy from the Big Schwop

Inga, Sarah and Chrissy from the Big Schwop

This business is in its infancy, but I really look forward to seeing how it grows. I plan on helping them wherever I can, including helping at the upcoming event in Wellington on the 31st of October. If you’re in or around Wellington on that date, do come along, it’s well worth your while.

See the Big Schwop website here http://www.thebigschwop.co.nz

Entry filed under: Bargain hunting, Environment & Sustainability. Tags: , , , .

Music for the workplace Unsubscribe requests; what not to do

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Twitter @clairednz